Integrated Close Combat Forum

A family oriented self defense, preparedness, survival, and basic first-aid forum.
It is currently 25 Jun 2017 03:41

Contact Us | All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Welcome
Welcome to ICCF

Due to excessive spam, the administrator must approve all registrants, our apologies for the inconvenience.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Post subject: Thoughts on "stocking up"...
PostPosted: 16 Nov 2014 15:52 
Site Admin

Have thanks: 89 time

I see many article and posts suggesting what and how to stockpile food and other necessities. While these are interesting and somewhat helpful, I think folks should put some additional thought into it before accumulating thousands of dollars of consumables.

Not that I am an expert, far from it, but here's a few things I thought of, listed in no particular order...

First off, my list and your list may not necessarily be the same. What good is a gross of canned pork-n-beans if I'm allergic to legumes? Use the expert's list as a start point and adjust it to your personal needs prior to purchasing. Only stock what you normally use.

As well, to do it properly in my estimation, you'll need to rotate stock. That way you'll always have the amount you need for the duration you planned for in case it's ever needed. Therefore you have to like to eat, on a day to day basis, what you are stocking or the stuff will sit on a shelf in your bomb shelter and rot.

I'd say the first thing to do is decide on how many people you're stockpiling for and, maybe, add one to that number just in case.

Next, determine how long are you stockpiling for, a week, a month, a year? Decide now.

Now start planning the menu.

To be continued...

Post subject: Re: Thoughts on "stocking up"...
PostPosted: 16 Nov 2014 16:32 

Have thanks: 16 time